Fall Trend Forecast

by denisesalceda

Pattern and texture mash-ups, color blocking, parkas, a revisiting of the 60’s, polka dots, and the androgynous tuxedo.

I don’t follow trends religiously, but I do like to piece together my own interpretation of them according to my personal style. For example, I’m not a huge fan of mixing crazy, super colorful prints or textures, but I love neutral colors, which helps to tone the trend down enough to be workable for me.

Here are the trends as seen on the runway:

Left to right: Rodarte, Balenciaga, Max Azria, Bottega Veneta, Marc Jacobs, Acne

And here is my interpretation:

1. Pattern and texture mash-ups

Using neutral colors and working with all warm tones or all cool tones makes more sense when it comes to throwing different prints or textures together.

2. Color Blocking

Keep color blocking subtle with earthy tones or spunk up an outfit with a bright color-blocked accessory or shoe.

3. Parkas

I know, I know...neutral tones again. I can't help it--I'm drawn to them like a mosquito to a bug zapper. Anyways, I love the drawstring waist on the first two jackets, and the third gives off an air of casual, effortless style.

4. The 60’s–Revisited

Fitted, feminine shapes, sheath dresses, and classy stripes are perfect when paired with modern pieces like dark jeans, wedge heels, and chunky bangles. Keep in mind, you want to pay tribute to the 60's, not look like you stepped straight out of the movie American Graffiti.

5. Polka Dots!

Polka dots are fun on classy, feminine pieces. Keep it simple--think Audrey Hepburn, not Minnie Mouse.

6. Tux Deluxe

Just throw on a tux jacket and voilà--your jeans and basic tee just got a lot cooler.

Well, that’s about it for the Fall trends. Are you ready for them? Of course you are. Now go out there and flaunt your fabulous self!

-Denise

