Vegas, baby!

by denisesalceda

In a previous post I mentioned that I was going to Vegas for PROJECT, a huge fashion trade show event at the Mandalay Bay convention center for my Showroom Seven internship. Well, I’m back from that trip now, and here is how it went:

Day One (Sunday)

Lauren Conrad was on my flight to Vegas. Whaaaaaaaaaaat?!? The Lauren Conrad? From the MTV reality show The Hills? I know right? So random. But awesome. She was wearing a cute oversized knit sweater and some jeans. I sat a few seats behind her and her two fashionista friends. 

The flight was super quick, and within an hour, we were already in Vegas. I took a shuttle straight to the Mandalay Bay to help the Showroom Seven team set up the booths in the convention center. Once we got everything looking perfect, we took our separate ways and settled in to our hotel rooms to relax a bit before dinner.

I stayed at the Signature at MGM Grand along with Rebekah, a sales rep from Showroom Seven New York. Our suite was amazing! It had a kitchenette (stove top and everything!), a tub with jets, a TV in the bathroom, an iPod alarm clock, and a phone next to the toilet (I personally wouldn’t want to call anyone from the toilet, but it’s still cool to have the option).

After much deliberation, we decided to go to the Diablo’s Cantina for dinner. Rebekah and I walked there from our hotel because we didn’t feel like waiting in a long taxi line. We met up with some people there and I ordered enchiladas, my favorite. With food coma from stuffing our faces, we went back to our hotels and crashed for the night.

Day Two (Monday)

Since it was the first day of the trade show, we had to get there extra early. Rebekah thought it would be fun to schedule a wake up call from the front desk, just for the heck of it, because we could. Ring Ring! We got the call at 6:30 in the morning to get our butts out of bed. When we were ready, we headed downstairs to grab coffee and breakfast at Starbucks, and then started walking through the maze that is The Strip to get to the Mandalay Bay.

Once we made it there and got in to PROJECT using our super duper special badges, my roommate went to her Denimocracy booth, and I went to my Odd Molly booth and selected my Odd Molly outfit for the day.

There were some big names at the trade show like AG Adriano Goldschmied, 7 For all Mankind, BCBG Max Azria, Botkier, Ben Sherman, Diesel, Ella Moss, French Connection, Lacoste, Michael Stars, Matt Bernson, Polo Ralph Lauren, PUMA, Rebecca Minkoff, Splendid, True Religion, and a ton more. Drool.

I had fun people watching. I had never seen so many fashionable people in one concentrated area before! It was especially nice to see guys that knew how to dress well –granted most of them were gay, but still.

At 6pm, it was time to close up for the day. My roommate went to dinner with some business partners, and I decided have a relaxing evening and order room service. Why not? I spoiled myself by ordering tandoori chicken curry, a glass of cabernet sauvignon, and a slice of chocolate mousse cake. I watched UP while I ate, then took a hot shower and called it a night. Zzzz.

Day Three (Tuesday)

We woke up at 7:30am, groaned, got ready, and got coffee and breakfast at Starbucks( I got a cinnamon dolce latte and a turkey and egg white breakfast sandwich, yum!). This time, we took a taxi over to the Mandalay Bay instead of walking (whew!). 

Since it was going to be our last night in Vegas, we decided that we had to go out after working the convention. We had to. Before dinner, we went to the Shark Reef Aquarium. I saw a big crocodile, a komodo dragon, piranhas, sharks, and a ton of fishies. There were sting rays in a shallow pool and I touched them. They were squishy. Did I mention that there were sharks?

After dinner, we made our way to the Cosmopolitan. To get there, we had to walk through Crystals, a super high-end designer mall. It was torture. I bet only about 2% of the people that walk through there can actually afford to buy anything from the expensive boutiques. Sigh. It was really pretty though.

Once at the Cosmopolitan, we had some drinks at a nice lounge/bar called the Chandelier. We met up with some other people there that were also vendors at PROJECT and had a good time unwinding after a long day of work. 

We still wanted to go to a club, and the night was young, so we went upstairs to the Marquee, which was having a Hudson Jeans and Creative Rec Magic party. It was crazy crowded so we hung out next to the rooftop pool, which had an awesome view of the surrounding hotels all lit up and glowing against the night sky.

We tried to get on the dance floor, but it was nearly impossible because there were so many people bumpin’ and grindin’ to the DJ’s sick beats. At 2am, we figured it was time to go, we had our fun, and off to bed we went.  

Day four ( Wednesday)

This was the last day of my fabulous Vegas trip. After getting only four hours of sleep, I woke up at 7am, got ready, packed my things, checked, double checked, and triple checked to make sure I had everything, and left the hotel room for the last time. My roommate and I got our Starbucks breakfast, hopped in a taxi, and worked the last day of the trade show.

My flight back to Los Angeles went smoothly except for the mild turbulence that freaked out the girl sitting next to me so much the stewardesses had to give her a vodka tonic so she wouldn’t have a nervous breakdown. After that in-flight entertainment, we landed and I headed to my home sweet home. Best Vegas trip ever. 

